Today's Paper Digital FAQ Obits River Valley Democrat-Gazette Newsletters NWA Vaccine Information NWA Screening Sites Virus Interactive Map Coronavirus FAQ Crime Razorback Sports Today's Photos Puzzles

Ceremony on hold for Arkansas Ag Hall of Fame

by Stephen Steed | August 5, 2021 at 11:11 a.m.
FILE -- A tractor sprays insecticide on a cotton field on Friday, June 18, 2021, at Brantley Farming Company in England. (Arkansas Democrat-Gazette/Thomas Metthe)

The Aug. 20 induction ceremony of the Arkansas Agriculture Hall of Fame has been postponed until March 4 because of the rise in covid-19 cases in the state.

Butch Calhoun, chairman of the hall's board, said a record crowd of about 700 had been expected for the luncheon and ceremony.

"I am sad, because this is such an important moment for Arkansas agriculture," Calhoun of Des Arc said in a news release.

Refunds will be provided.

This year's inductees are retired Cooperative Extension Service Director Rick Cartwright of Fayetteville; long-time agriculture educator Joe Don Greenwood of Hermitage; the late Russell Roy Reynolds, director of the U.S. Forest Service Crossett Experimental Forest for 34 years; former Arkansas Farm Bureau President Randy Veach of Manila; Mark Waldrip of Moro, founder of Armor Seed Co.; and Andrew Wargo III of Watson, farm manager for the 15,000-acre Baxter Land Co. for more than 50 years.

Last year's induction ceremony for six members was held as scheduled, about two weeks before the onset of the pandemic and resulting shutdown.

The hall has 170 members since its creation in 1987.


Sponsor Content