Today's Paper Digital FAQ Obits Newsletters ✅NWA Vote Covid Classroom Coronavirus Cancellations NWA Screening Sites Virus Interactive Map Coronavirus FAQ Crime Razorback Sports Today's Photos Puzzles

Arkansas is sending five leaders to the Delta Regional Authority's Delta Leadership Institute. They will join leaders from the seven other Delta states to participate in the institute's 10-month Executive Academy to further their skills in community leadership, policy development, and regional collaboration. The aim is to drive economic growth across the Mississippi River Delta and Alabama Black Belt regions. The program brings together representatives from the public, private and nonprofit sectors from across the eight-state Delta region. Arkansas' 2019-20 Delta Leadership Institute fellows are:

Suzzette Goldmon, Monticello, director of hospitality and tourism, University of Arkansas at Monticello.

Andy Davis, Little Rock, principal/owner, New Water Systems LLC.

Gene White, Pine Bluff, director of retention and advising, Southeast Arkansas College.

Samantha Montgomery, Little Rock, digital coordinator, office of the attorney general.

Susan Edwards, Little Rock, executive assistant to the federal co-chairman, Delta Regional Authority.

• Four Arkansas educators from Sebastian and Benton counties received teaching awards, including a teacher and her former 5th grade student who is now an adult and also a teacher. They were honored Nov. 13 with the Bessie B. Moore awards for excellence in economic and personal finance education during the 2018-19 school year. At a luncheon in the Great Hall of the Clinton Presidential Center in Little Rock, each received $1,000 and a copy of The Bessie, a 7-inch statue created on a 3-D printer by the Arkansas Innovation Hub. The luncheon was hosted by Economics Arkansas, an educational nonprofit organization. The Bessie B. Moore winners and their projects were:

Amy Nicole Gordon, "Cupid's Creations," Barling Elementary, Fort Smith School District.

Valarie Harp, "P.I.E.S., Primary Investigators Economics Style," Hackett Elementary, Hackett School District.

Amy Mileham, "Truckin' Through Economics," Grace Hill Elementary, Rogers School District.

Anna Badders, "The Lemonade Stand Hangout," Grace Hill Elementary, Rogers School District.

Sheila Humphrey, formerly of J.P. Woods Elementary, Fort Smith School District, received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Austin Marotti, a Pulaski Academy graduate, has been initiated into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. He is attending the University of Mississippi and is among about 30,000 students, alumni, and faculty and professional staff members initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year.

• Star City Schools Superintendent Jon Laffoon has been named 2019 Administrator of the Year by the Arkansas Art Educators. He received the award for his support of art education in schools.

• Little Rock Special Olympics Arkansas hosted its second Hall of Fame banquet on Nov. 19. The evening began with the traditional presentation of the miner's lamp and a presentation by the North Little Rock Police Department Honor Guard. After the ceremonial entrance, guests heard from Special Olympics athletes regarding the impact that the Law Enforcement Torch Run has had on their lives. The night was capped off with recognition of three individuals for their dedication and passion. Honored were Sgt Lori Whillock of the Arkansas State Police, former Chief Ronnie Burks of the Arkansas Highway Police, and North Little Rock Police Department Chief Mike Davis. Combined, the three inductees have contributed more than 75 years as Guardians of the Flame, creating awareness and raising funds for Special Olympics Arkansas. The Hall of Fame's first inductee in 2017, Bill Buford, was on hand to celebrate with the 2019 inductees.

• Arvest Bank recently announced that Kristy Mosby from Booker Arts Magnet Elementary and Lisa Mitchell from Chenal Elementary are winners of $500 awards as part of the We Heart Teachers campaign. A total of 131 awards, totaling $65,500, are being given this year. Mosby and Mitchell will use the awards to enhance the learning experience in their classrooms.

• Arkansas State University-Beebe second-year students in the Veterinary Technology program were recently awarded scholarships. Those receiving scholarships from the Arkansas Veterinary Medical Association and Foundation were: Tabitha A. Colquitt from Greenbrier, Alyssa Sheppard from Little Rock and Sheri Thomson from Pine Bluff. An anonymous Veterinary Technology Scholarship was awarded to Chloe Garland from Magnolia. The scholarships are presented to ASU-Beebe students majoring in Veterinary Technology, and are based on academic performance and service to ASU-Beebe.

Arkansas Achievers is an opportunity to give recognition to Arkansans for their achievements.

Civilian and military achievements are accepted.

Please follow these guidelines:


1) Must be an Arkansan or have graduated from a school in Arkansas.

2) Received an award, scholarship, medal or promotion.

Pageants, deans' lists, graduations or military enlistments are not accepted.

No photographs please.

To submit an Achiever email us at [email protected] with the words "Arkansas Achievers" in the subject line.

SundayMonday on 11/24/2019

Print Headline: Arkansas Achievers

Sponsor Content


COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.