Today's Paper Obituaries Newsletters High School Sports Home Style Hogs Hang 100 on Vandy Crime Razorback Sports Today's Photos Puzzles



1A-1 Conference at Jasper

Alpena 50, Jasper 32

The Lady Leopards jumped to a 26-14 halftime lead and cruised to the district title.

Sophomore Alex Hill poured in a game-high 21 points to go with six steals and five rebounds to lead Alpena to the victory. Senior Abby Dean added a double-double with 11 points and 12 rebounds, while Emma Lewis led Jasper with 11.

1A-2 Conference at Izard County Consolidated

Norfork 65, Viola 57

Whitlee Layne poured in a game-high 28 points to lead Norfork to the district title on Saturday night.

Norfork led 31-28 at halftime, but expanded the lead to 46-32 after three quarters. Kynzie Rangel chipped in 12 for Norfork, while Keyaira Moore led Viola with 20.

3A-1 Conference at Clinton

Valley Springs 54, Mountain View 48

Bailey Bryant scored 18 points to lead Valley Springs past Mountain View in the championship game.

Madison Campbell added 10 points for Valley Springs.


1A-1 Conference at Jasper

Jasper 62, The New School 44

Jasper jumped out to a 30-14 halftime lead, then Caleb Carter and Chance Pruitt take care of the rest.

Carter scored 18 of his 22 points in the second half, while Pruitt had 10 of his 14 after intermission as the Pirates led 42-26 after three quarters.

Tysen Barbour led New School with 15, while Jan Sturner added 11.

Izard County Consolidated 86, Calico Rock 45

Justus Cooper scored a game-high 24 points to lead the Cougars to the district title on Saturday night.

Noah Everett added 21 and Caleb Faulkner 18 for the Cougars (35-4), who led 41-24 at halftime. Clayton Smyser led Calico Rock with 13.

3A-1 Conference at Clinton

Valley Springs 40, Clinton 29

Isaac Ragland scored 18 points to lead Valley Springs to its second consecutive district tournament championship.

Ethan Flud added eight points and Teagan James seven for Valley Springs.

Friday's Games


2A-1 Conference at Yellville-Summit

Eureka Springs 32, Yellville-Summit 20

Garrett Cross scored 21 points to lead Eureka Springs past Yellville-Summit in the championship game on Friday.

Cross had 10 points in the fourth quarter, when the Highlanders outscored Yellville-Summit 16-5.

Flippin 63, Cotter 59

Lance May scored 24 points to lead Flippin past Cotter in the third-place game on Friday.

Devyn Payne added 14 points for Flippin while Cole Adams poured in 29 points to lead Cotter.


Cotter 47, Flippin 45

Sam Sanchez scored 14 points to lead Cotter past Flippin in the championship game on Friday.

Paige Clawson added eight points for Cotter, which outscored Flippin 16-9 in the fourth quarter. Leah Still had 18 to lead Flippin.

Eureka Springs 36, Decatur 26

Megan Holloway scored 15 points and Shelby Little 13 to lead Eureka Springs past Decatur in the third-place game on Friday.

Annabelle Schopper scored 10 points to lead the Lady Bulldogs.


Heritage's Maxwell, Bentonville's Eichler win state bowling titles

Rogers Heritage's Hunter Maxwell and Bentonville High's Kynzi Eichler each claimed Class 6A individual state bowling titles on Friday.

Maxwell won the boys' title, totaling 649 over three games, edging Fort Smith Southside's Colby Harger's 630. Eichler finished with 675 to easily outdistance Lady Tigers' teammate Lindsey Gann, who finished second with 587, to win the girls' title.

Fort Smith Southside won the boys' title with 3,952, followed by Bentonville with 3811 and Rogers Heritage third. Cabot earned the girls' team title with 3647, followed by Bentonville at 3575 and Rogers Heritage third.


Springdale Bowling Center

High Scores for week ending Feb. 9

MONDAY NIGHT ALLEY CATS Vital Capacities: John Mellor 238, Mike Fincher 201; Misfits: Jon Robinson 209, JP Robinson 244-205 (619); Misfit 4: Brad Bradford 212-219-202 (633); Spare Wars: Steve Morrison 222; Splits & Giggles: Lonnie Billington 225-200 (605).

MONDAY NIGHT LADIES Bowling Angels: Linda Papczynski 202 (500); One & Done: Susan Stewart 175.

TUESDAY NIGHT GO GETTERS WAC Sharpening & Services: Christina Hall 181; Pin Pals: Keptola O'Neal 197.

THURSDAY NITE USBC Poor Joe: Donna Tito 177-192 (506), Linda Papczynski 175-190; Eggstasea: Lance Henderson 203; HOLOF: John Mellor 200, Eric Doege 256-232 (679), Ron Trolinger 203; Put Your Thumb In It: Brittni George 176, Juan Garcia 231-253 (657); The Goonies: Austin Myers 217, Cory Sullivan 209, Samuel Blythe 221; Whatever: Charlie Murphy 213, Kevin Taylor 214-226 (611), Mike Taylor 213-219 (619), Matt Taylor 204-232 (616); Gen X Crew: Ron Kubitscheck 213, Geno Fenton 205, Jobie Vongpraphanh 224-217 (617), Wes Price 215-200-223 (638); Good and Plenty: JP Robinson 244-212 (618), Sandy Burson 238 (613), Eddie Sparks 215-211 (618); Drunken T-Rex: Sam Mussino 212, Dena Bright 190, Johnny Doshier 210; It Is What It Is: Mary Alice Granata 179 (521), Deanne Shepherd 176-181-204 (561), Greg Granata 210-202, Tommy Granata 213; BILFS: Chuck Shelton 214-255-238 (707); We're Trying: Chrissy Burke 193-179-193 (565), Tommy Taylor 201-203, Dan Daily 257-245 (666), Randy Foglesong 207-233-207 (647); Spare Parts: Ken Clark 204-204-216 (624), Danny Forkner 215; Bowl Diddlies: Red Self 236, Leon Street 206; Becca's Boys: Becca Fenton 200, Kameron Cunningham 200, Luc Fenton 212-245 (617), Coy England 233-217 (641); Splits Happens: Bridgette Fenton 192; 5 Guys Trying: Larry Kuehn 201, Chris Walton 221; Blue Heaven Farms: Troy Worley 214; 4 Gals and a Guy: Becky Sack 179, Mattie Roles 214 (500); Thunderstruck: Donna Murie 177, Chip Gross 200, David Framstad 213.

FRIDAY NIGHT MIXED Hammer Down: Barbara Burr 188, Terry Stark 225; Shenanigans: Deana Stark 223-178 (525); Dilly Dilly: David Sparks 205-234-256 (695), Jon Robinson 209, Tommy Taylor 205-221; Splits and Giggles: Justin Upton 211, Scott Lister 215; Bipolar Rollers: Sandy Burson 203; Shake and Bake: Dody Nielsen 219-214 (621).

Preps Sports on 02/17/2019

Print Headline: Sports Roundup

Sponsor Content


COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.