School Closings Today's Paper Obits Today's Photos Our Town Opinion: Don't ask, don't tell? Weather NWADG Redesign Puzzles NWA Basketball 2018
story.lead_photo.caption FILE PHOTO Arkansas Democrat-Gazette/MICHAEL MARSHALL Lady Razorback #30 Sytia Messer drives the ball down the court during the 1998 season opener against Providence University at Bud Walton Arena. Messer is one of 15 former Razorback athletes who will be inducted into the UA Sports Hall of Honor on Sept. 14 at the Fayetteville Town Center

Arkansas Athletics, the Razorback Foundation and A Club will join to laud and induct 15 former University of Arkansas Razorback athletes into the UA Sports Hall of Fame on Sept. 14.

The festivities include a benefit golf tournament at 8 a.m. at Fayetteville Country Club. The induction ceremony at the Fayetteville Town Center will begin with a social hour and cocktails at 5:45 p.m., followed by the ceremony and banquet at 6:45 p.m.

Sports Hall of Honor golf tournament and induction ceremony

Who: University of Arkansas

What: Fifteen former Arkansas Razorback athletes will be inducted.

Golf tournament

When: 8 a.m. Sept. 14

Where: Fayetteville Country Club

Registration: $350 per golfer or $1,400 per foursome

Ceremony and banquet

When: 5:45 p.m. Sept. 14

Where: Fayetteville Town Center

Tickets: $75

Attire: Cocktail

Information: (479) 443-9000

Honorees will be recognized just before Arkansas Razorbacks vs. the University of North Texas Mean Green kickoff at 3 p.m. Sept. 15.

The mission of the UA Sports Hall of Honor is to "to pay tribute and extend recognition to those individuals who have made significant contributions to the honor and fame of the University of Arkansas and its athletic programs and to showcase the history and tradition of the Razorbacks."

The 2018 class of inductees are:

• April Steiner Bennett, women's track and field;

• Ron Faurot, football;

• Greg Horne, football;

• Ivan Jordan, football;

• Bruce Lahay, football;

• Ewell Lee, men's tennis;

• Steve Loy, men's golf;

• Dana McQuillin, gymnastics;

• Rickey Medlock, men's basketball;

• Sytia Messer, women's basketball;

• Jonthon Modica, men's basketball;

• Nick Schmidt, baseball;

• Jerry Spencer, swimming and diving;

• Randy Stephens, men's track and field; and

• Kim Storey Chronister, volleyball.


NAN Our Town on 09/06/2018

Print Headline: Former Razorback athletes to be lauded, inducted

Sponsor Content