Arvest Files New Suit In Smiley Case; Appears To Settle Disputes With Other Banks

Posted: August 20, 2014 at 1:30 a.m.



Arvest Bank filed a new lawsuit against former bank president Dennis Smiley after asking the court to dismiss a different case.

At A Glance

Banks Settle

Arvest Bank named 20 banks in an interpleader lawsuit involving Dennis Smiley, former president of Arvest Bank of Benton County. Arvest claimed the named banks may try to claim all or part of the $551,754 it held from Smiley’s bank stock proceeds. Arvest asked Benton County Circuit Court to dismiss its case against all banks named in the lawsuit except for First State Bank of De Queen and Signature Bank. Banks dismissed from the case are:

• Bank of Oklahoma

• Bank of Fayetteville

• Bank of the Ozarks, Little Rock

• Benefit Bank, Fort Smith

• Chambers Bank, Danville

• Centennial Bank, Conway

• Delta Trust & Bank, Parkdale

• First Bank, Hampton

• First Federal Bank, Harrison

• First National Bank of Fort Smith

• Integrity First Bank

• First Security Bank, Searcy

• First State Bank, Lonoke

• First State Bank of NWA, Huntsville

• First State Bank, Russellville

• First Western Bank, Boonville

• Legacy National Bank, Springdale

• Summit Bank, Arkadelphia

Source: Staff Report

This story is only available from our archives.