Beebe declares 22 counties disaster areas

Posted: December 13, 2013 at 11:20 a.m.

Motorists struggle to head south on North College Avenue at Sycamore Street as snow falls Friday, Dec. 6, 2013, in Fayetteville.

Gov. Mike Beebe says 22 counties across central, northern and western Arkansas were hard-hit by last week's winter storms.

Beebe on Friday declared the counties state disaster areas because of damage caused by the ice and snow.

His office said representatives from the state Department of Emergency Management were already working with federal officials in about a dozen counties. They are attempting to determine whether Arkansas would qualify for federal assistance. If that were to happen, the state would be eligible for help in repairing any damaged infrastructure.

The counties declared disaster areas Friday were Baxter, Crawford, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Montgomery, Newton, Polk, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Scott, Sebastian, Sharp, Stone and Van Buren.


« Previous Story

Panel accepts UA audit without hearing from f...

University of Arkansas trustee John Goodson, left, shakes hands with former fundraising division chief Brad Choate Friday after Goodson addressed a legislative audit panel.

Legislators voted Friday to accept an audit of the University of Arkansas' fundraising division without hearin... Read »

Next Story »

Sheriff: Colorado school shooter wounds 2, ki...

CENTENNIAL, Colo. — A Colorado sheriff says a student who shot two others before apparently killing himself at a Denver-area high school is believed to have acted alone. Read »