Constable Funding Eyed
County Seeks Answers To Liability Questions
Posted: November 19, 2012 at 1:56 a.m.
Benton County’s justices of the peace are considering a proposal to provide funding to the county’s five constables beginning in 2013.
At A Glance
Constable Training Requirements
Arkansas law sets some minimum training standards for constables.
For a constable to have access to information from the Arkansas Crime Information Center: He or she shall satisfactorily complete the constable certification course provided by the Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training. Each year after completing the certification course required he or she shall satisfactorily complete sixteen 16 hours of training provided by the Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training.
For a constable to carry a firearm: He or she shall attend sixteen 16 hours of firearms training; and each year after completing the training required he or she shall satisfy the firearm qualification standards for a law enforcement official.
Source: Arkansas Code 14-14-1314
This story is only available from our archives.