South Carolina routs Arkansas 38-20

Posted: November 10, 2012 at 2:42 p.m.

Arkansas Democrat-Gazette/STEPHEN B. THORNTON -- South Carolina's Aldrick Fordham sacks Arkansas QB Tyler Wilson in the second quarter during their game Saturday afternoon in South Carolina.

— Connor Shaw passed for 272 yards and 2 touchdowns as No. 8 South Carolina beat Arkansas 38-20 Saturday at Williams-Brice Stadium.

The Gamecocks seized control of the game on Shaw's 42-yard touchdown pass to Bruce Ellington with 1:30 remaining in the second quarter to take a 21-10 halftime lead.

South Carolina added a 41-yard field goal by Adam Yates on the first possession of the third quarter and extended the lead to 31-10 on D.J. Swearinger's 69-yard interception return touchdown three plays later.

Arkansas coach John L. Smith recaps the Razorbacks' 38-20 loss to South Carolina on Saturday.


John L. Smith - South Carolina Postgame

Mike Davis added a 2-yard touchdown run late in the third quarter to push South Carolina's lead to 38-13. The Gamecocks snapped a three-game losing streak to Arkansas, beating the Razorbacks for the first time since 2008.

Arkansas tied the game on a 6-yard touchdown pass from Tyler Wilson to Keon Hatcher early in the second quarter and pulled with 14-10 on the first of two Zach Hocker field goals, but could get no closer.

South Carolina (8-2, 5-2 Southeastern Conference) outscored the Razorbacks 24-10 in the game's final 32 minutes. A late, eight-yard touchdown pass to Demetrius Wilson cut the Gamecocks' lead to 38-20.

Penalties and turnovers hurt the Razorbacks in the first half. Wilson, who threw two interceptions for the second straight conference game, had a 39-yard pass to Cobi Hamilton nullified by an illegal formation penalty on the first drive of the game, and running back Dennis Johnson lost a fumble at the South Carolina 5 early in the second quarter.

The Razorbacks fell to 4-6 overall this season, including 2-4 in SEC games. Arkansas must win its final two games against Mississippi State and LSU to become eligible for a postseason bowl game.