School news: Millikin, Berea, Abilene Christian, Missouri State

Omicron Delta Kappa

Leyton Elmore, a native of Fort Smith, was recently initiated into the United States Military Academy Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honor Society. The Society welcomed 486 new initiates from 24 universities during May 2023.

Students initiated into the Society must be sophomores, juniors, seniors, or graduate/professional students in the top 35% of their class, demonstrate leadership experience in at least one of the five pillars, and embrace the ODK ideals. Fewer than 5% of students on a campus are invited to join each year.


University of Tampa

Caroline Henry of Rogers graduated from the University of Tampa (Fla.) in May with a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology.

The University of Tampa is a private, comprehensive university with about 200 programs of study and serves approximately 11,000 students from 50 states and most of the world's countries.


Millikin University

Isabel Rimovsky of Van Buren made the Dean's List for spring 2023 at Millikin University in Decatur, Ill.

Students who attempt 12 graded credits during a fall or spring semester and earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher earn Dean's List honors. Students earning a perfect 4.00 grade point average on 12 graded credits attempted earn High Dean's List honors.

Millikin University is a private, comprehensive university with a diverse student population of approximately 2,200 undergraduate and graduate students.


College of the Holy Cross

Abigail Durkin of Bentonville was named to the College of the Holy Cross spring 2023 Dean's List.

To qualify, students must pass four or more letter-graded courses with no failing grades during the semester and earn a GPA of 3.5 or higher.

The College of the Holy Cross, in Worcester, Mass., is among the nation's leading liberal arts institutions with 3,100 undergraduate students.


College of Charleston

Molly Drewry of Bentonville was named to the College of Charleston spring 2023 President's List. Drewry is majoring in music and psychology.

To qualify for the President's List, students must earn a GPA of 3.800 or higher and complete a minimum of 14 semester hours.

Located in the heart of historic Charleston, S.C., the College of Charleston is a nationally recognized public liberal arts and sciences university founded in 1770.


University of Dallas

Two local undergraduate students -- Kaitlyn Cline of Fort Smith and Gianna Reding of Omaha -- were named to the spring 2023 Dean's List at the University of Dallas for earning a semester GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Undergraduate students at the University of Dallas, a nationally recognized Catholic liberal arts university, must complete two years of fundamental coursework in the humanities, sciences, politics, mathematics and fine arts. Students must also complete coursework in Ancient Greek, French, German, Italian, Latin or Spanish.


Berea College

Abegail Blakey of Bentonville has been named to the spring 2023 Dean's List at Berea College in Berea, Ky.

A student is named to the Dean's List who achieves a GPA of 3.4 or higher while passing at least four total credits, a course load equivalent to 16 semester hours.

Berea College offers bachelor's degrees in 34 majors, including arts and sciences and select professional programs, as well as independent majors designed by students to mirror approved majors at other colleges. Founded upon inclusive Christian principles in 1855, Berea was the first interracial and coeducational college in the South.


Abilene Christian

Sydney Brown of Fort Smith graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology from Abilene Christian University.

Brown was among 833 students who received degrees at ACU's May 2023 commencement.

Founded in 1906, Abilene Christian University in Abilene, Texas, enrolls more than 5,700 students in 87 baccalaureate majors that include more than 171 areas of study, 71 areas of study in master's degree and specialist programs, and four doctoral programs.


Missouri State

Missouri State University awarded 2,953 degrees to students in spring 2023. Among them from our area were:

Rachel Thurman of Pea Ridge, Doctor of Nurse Anesthesia Practice; Cameron Bruso of Fort Smith, Doctor of Nurse Anesthesia Practice; Beverly Norris of Springdale, Doctor of Nurse Anesthesia Practice; Brittany Quinn of Fayetteville, Doctor of Physical Therapy.

Molly Del Rossi of Bella Vista, Bachelor of Arts, English, Cum Laude in the Honors College; Kaitlyn Johns of Centerton, Bachelor of Science, Socio-Political Communication, Cum Laude; Virginia McCorkle of Bella Vista, Bachelor of Science in Education, Middle School Education, Summa Cum Laude; Emma Russell of Gravette, Bachelor of Science in Education, Elementary Education, Cum Laude; Lydia Thomas of Bentonville, Bachelor of Science in Education, Elementary Education, Cum Laude; Francesca Rossi of Fort Smith, Bachelor of Science, Management, Cum Laude; Kennedy Ryan of Fort Smith, Bachelor of Music, Cum Laude; Seonghwa Jung of Fayetteville (72704) graduated with a Bachelor of Science, Nutrition and Dietetics, Cum Laude.

Zackary Brown of Pea Ridge, Bachelor of Fine Arts, Art; Mason Simmons of Bentonville, Bachelor of Science, Criminology and Criminal Justice and Psychology; Amanda Winters of Bentonville, Bachelor of Fine Arts, Design; Kaitlyn Pratt of Harrison, Bachelor of Science, Psychology; Bernice Rubio of Harrison, Bachelor of Science in Nursing; Chance Thompson of Harrison, Bachelor of Science, Religious Studies.

Spencer Brown of Fayetteville, Master of Professional Studies; Nicholas Conyac of Springdale, Master of Business Administration.

Based in Springfield, Missouri State University is a public, comprehensive university system with a mission in public affairs.


Middle Tennessee

Middle Tennessee State University congratulates the students who received their degrees at its spring 2023 commencement ceremonies, including Trent Roeder of Rogers; Alahna Shew of Rogers; Ethan Sparks of Rogers; and Madison Speed of Prairie Grove.

Founded in 1911 as one of three state normal schools for teacher training, Middle Tennessee State University in Murfreesboro is one of the oldest and largest undergraduate universities in the state of Tennessee.

Send school news to [email protected].