Today's Paper Digital FAQ Obits Newsletters Enter the Fish Story Contest 🎣 NWA Vaccine Information NWA Screening Sites Virus Interactive Map Coronavirus FAQ Crime Razorback Sports Today's Photos Puzzles

Springdale students win coding competition

by Cynthia Howell | May 4, 2021 at 7:50 a.m.

LITTLE ROCK -- Students from the Tyson School of Innovation in Springdale won first place in the annual Governor's All-State Coding Competition on Saturday at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock.

New Technology High School in Rogers students received second place, and a team from eSTEM High School in Little Rock received the third-place honor.

Additionally, Ashley Kincannon, a teacher at Lake Hamilton Junior High School, was selected from among five finalists to be the 2021 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year.

"For the fifth straight year, this competition has inspired impressive solutions from Arkansas' top computer science students," Gov. Asa Hutchinson said. "Their work reinforces my confidence that these students will be more than well prepared to take the reins of leadership. When you consider the caliber of the five teachers we recognized, it's no surprise that we are seeing this excellence in our computer science students."

Tyson team members Lucas Kellar, Luke Lyons and Drake Mayes each received a 529 college savings plan prize worth $2,000.

New Tech students Joshua Willard, Aldan Garner and David Daniel each received a 529 college savings plan prize worth $1,000, and Little Rock's eSTEM students Elijah Keen, Spencer Knight and Sergio Markin each received a 529 college savings plan prize worth $500.

In addition to the individual awards, winning schools received $10,000, $6,000, and $4,000, respectively, to support their computer science programs.

Kincannon received $12,500 award from the Arkansas Department of Education's Office of Computer Science for receiving the top teacher honor. She and the other four finalists also received $2,500 prizes.

Those finalists are: Carl Frank, Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts; Kimberly Raup, Conway High School; Stacy Reynolds, McGehee High School; and Lauren Taylor, Dardanelle High School.


Sponsor Content