Today's Paper Obits Digital FAQ Newsletters Coronavirus 🔴 Cancellations 🔴NWA Screening Sites Virus Interactive Map Coronavirus FAQ Crime Razorback Sports Today's Photos Puzzles

Girls on the Run

Girls on the Run of Northwest Arkansas has announced the recipient of the 2020 Kimberly-Clark/Girls on the Run of Northwest Arkansas Scholarship. Dianne Trujillo, a graduate of the Rogers School District, was selected from a competitive pool of applicants. She participated in the Girls on the Run of Northwest Arkansas program during her fourth and fifth grade years at Lowell Elementary. She is also an active volunteer and a two-year president of the Hispanic Ambassadors Club at Rogers New Technology High School.

Trujillo will be attending the Schedler Honors College at the University of Central Arkansas and plans to major in elementary education.

The Girls on the Run programs help girls develop key life skills including cultivating confidence, responding to oneself and others with care and creating positive connections with peers and adults. Each season culminates with a 5K event to celebrate the girls' growth during the season. Girls on the Run of Northwest Arkansas has served the Northwest Arkansas area since 2004 and has impacted the lives of more than 11,500 girls.

To learn more about Girls on the Run of Northwest Arkansas visit


Graceland University

The honor roll lists for Graceland University's 2020 spring term have been announced, and Madison McCarty of Lowell has been named to the President's List with a perfect 4.0 grade point average.

Graceland University in Lamoni, Iowa, was founded in 1895 and is sponsored by Community of Christ.


Hamilton College

Tiffany Ly of Harrison was named the recipient of the Senior Prize in Africana Studies at Hamilton College's annual Class & Charter Day. The virtual ceremony was held on May 11. Established in 1950, the event combines the traditional Class Day celebrating the end of classes with a commemoration of the granting of the college's charter on May 26, 1812.

The Senior Prize in Africana Studies is awarded to the outstanding senior concentrator in Africana studies.

Ly, a senior majoring in Africana studies and biology, is a graduate of Harrison High School.

Originally founded in 1793 as the Hamilton-Oneida Academy, Hamilton College is in Clinton, N.Y.



Arkansas Press Women recognized eight John Brown University students, a faculty member and an alumna among the winners of the organization's professional communications contest during an online presentation on April 25. The awards were presented in a virtual ceremony due to covid-19 concerns.

Catherine Nolte, a junior at John Brown University and managing editor of The Threefold Advocate, received three first-place awards in the collegiate education division of the contest. Her firsts were in design (print or electronic) for "The Life of Christ in Words and Images"; writing news for "Brexit delayed for a third time, pushed to January 2020"; and writing opinion, editorial, reviews for "Mental illness is not a sin." Nolte also placed second in the professional portion of the communications contest for specialty articles -- religion for "Upperclassmen confront faith crisis at CCCU schools."

A team of six students -- Rachel Ball, Claire Brownlee, Hannah Lawrence, Jessica Oldenettel, Natalie Rogers and Andrea Sosso -- received a first-place award in the collegiate division for public relations campaign. The students prepared a social media/communication plan for Saving Grace, a Rogers-based nonprofit organization. The campaign was their final project in a public relations writing and technology class.

JBU's Maria Aguilar, opinions editor for The Threefold Advocate, also was honored. Aguilar's article, "Bentonville citizens protest to relocate Confederate statue," was entered in the professional division of the contest and received an honorable mention in the specialty articles social issues category.

Debbie Miller, an assistant professor at JBU, received a first-place award in the collegiate division in the category of faculty adviser of student publication, station or site for advising The Threefold Advocate. Miller also received awards for work done in her previous job in development at Ozark Guidance. She received first-place awards in specialty articles personal essay and in communications program or campaign and second in public relations materials brochures.

Jamie (Brunk) Smith, a 2000 graduate of JBU, placed first in web and social media blogs, corporate or for-profit for "The Day Facebook Died (and why it shouldn't have been your website in the first place)." She also placed second in web and social media -- website edited or managed by the entrant (nonprofit, government or educational) for "GiveCamp NWA website." Chris Whittle was a co-entrant on Smith's website entry.

All awards are for work completed during 2019.

First-place winners in the APW contest advance to the National Federation of Press Women competition if the winners are NFPW members.

NAN Our Town on 05/21/2020

Print Headline: School news

Sponsor Content


COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.