Today's Paper Obits Digital FAQ Newsletters Coronavirus 🔴 Cancellations 🔴NWA Screening Sites Virus Interactive Map Coronavirus FAQ Crime Razorback Sports Today's Photos Puzzles

Wichita State

More than 1,000 students completed degrees in fall 2019 at Wichita State University in Wichita, Kan. Among them were:

Morgan F. Jones, Magazine, BS in Nursing, Nursing-RN-to-BSN, Magna Cum Laude; Stephen A. Turner of Rogers, Master of Science, Computer Science; Cara D. Payton of Van Buren, Bachelor of Science, Dental Hygiene-Completion, Magna Cum Laude.



The University of Arkansas at Little Rock has announced its fall 2019 Chancellor's List, recognizing nearly 700 students with superior academic performance. To be eligible for the Chancellor's List, students must earn at least nine credit hours and at least a 3.9 grade point average.

Among those who made the Chancellor's List are:

Katie Brown of Van Buren; Kendall Garner of Greenwood; Jayden Gray of Fort Smith; Robert Hill of Centerton; Tina Hill of Pea Ridge; Christopher Lewis of Fort Smith; Mayra Orozco of Fort Smith; Emilee Ross of Springdale; Christian Salazar of Lowell; Shelby Seal of Bella Vista; Nakiah Willis of Fort Smith; Susannah Wing of Rogers; and Bethany Wishon of Harrison.


University of Alabama

A total of 12,050 students enrolled during the 2019 fall semester at The University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa were named to the Dean's List with an academic record of 3.5 or above or the President's List with an academic record of 4.0.

The following local students made the President's List: Marina A. Tallman, Bella Vista; Margaret G. Joyce, Bentonville; James Fletcher Hall, Fayetteville; Mary Michael Knight, Fayetteville.

These students made the Dean's List: Elizabeth G. Bury, Bentonville; Ashtyn Amber Fields, Bentonville; Ariana N. Rivera, Bentonville; Sarah Bratton Conlee, Fayetteville; Katherine Nicole Upchurch, Fayetteville; Sydney Elizabeth Hicks, Gravette; Erin S. O'Brien, Rogers; Faith E. Davis, Springdale; Hannah Jewel Villines, Springdale.


Freed-Hardeman University

Abigail McCain of Centerton was named to the Dean's List for the fall 2019 semester at Freed-Hardeman University in Henderson, Tenn. McCain is majoring in photography.

McCain was among more than 600 students named to the fall honors list.


Cornell College

Cornell College in Mount Vernon, Iowa, named 254 students to its Dean's List for the fall 2019 semester, including Kenna Ebert of Fayetteville, Highest Honors with a 4.0 GPA.


Wheaton College

Wheaton College in Wheaton, Ill., named student James Sloneker of Springdale to the Dean's List for the fall 2019 semester.

To earn Dean's List honors at Wheaton, an undergraduate student must carry 12 or more credit hours and achieve a 3.5 grade point average or higher on the 4.0 scale.


Samford University

Samford University in Homewood, Ala., named 1,759 students to the 2019 fall semester Dean's List.

Among those honored were Alexandra Lewandowski of Springdale; Harper Whaley of Cave Springs; and Allison Lee of Fayetteville.

To qualify for the Dean's List, a student must have earned a minimum 3.5 grade point average out of a possible 4.0 while attempting at least 12 credit hours of coursework. Dean's List is the highest academic recognition given by the school at the end of each semester.


Austin Peay State

Austin Peay State University in Clarksville, Tenn., has named Noah Miller of Van Buren as one of more than 2,300 students named to the Dean's List for academic achievement during the fall 2019 semester.

To qualify for the Dean's List, students must earn a semester GPA of 3.5 or greater.


Wichita State

Wichita State University in Wichita, Kan., has announced the names of more than 3,300 students who were on the WSU Dean's Honor Roll for fall 2019.

To be included on the Dean's Honor Roll, a student must be enrolled full time (at least 12 credit hours) and earn at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale.

Among those included were: Jonathan D. McCarty, Bentonville; Ashley N. Yancey, Fort Smith; Aileen C. Rueda-DaCosta, Gentry; Ryan C. Giesen, Rogers.


Send school news to [email protected]

NAN Our Town on 02/13/2020

Print Headline: School news

Sponsor Content


COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.