Today's Paper Obits Newsletters Our Town Crime High-speed chase in Fayetteville Thursday's thumbs Razorback Sports Today's Photos Puzzles

Former U.S. Sen. David Pryor will be honored today with a lifetime achievement award by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting for his contributions to public media.

From 2006-14, Pryor served on the corporation's board after an appointment from President George W. Bush. He served as the board's vice chairman from 2010-11.

Pryor "brought his experience, wisdom and integrity to public media," Bruce Ramer, board chairman for the private, nonprofit corporation, said in a statement.

He credited Pryor with "ensuring education, responsible journalism and civic responsibility remained central to our mission."

The Corporation for Public Broadcasting, created by Congress in 1967, supports more than 1,500 locally owned public television and radio stations.

Pryor, also a former Arkansas governor, will be honored with the corporation's Lifetime Achievement Award at a private dinner in Bentonville. Past recipients of the award include former PBS NewsHour anchor Jim Lehrer, who will speak at the event.

"David Pryor's presence on the CPB Board was unifying and statesmanlike, with an unwavering commitment to our mission to inform, engage, and serve the underserved," Pat Harrison, the corporation's president and chief executive officer, said in a statement.

Metro on 11/13/2019

Print Headline: Broadcasting group to honor Pryor for public media role

Sponsor Content


COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.