Today's Paper Obits Newsletters Food Crime Rogers delays tiny homes Smith excelled in Springdale Razorback Sports Today's Photos Puzzles

Northwest Arkansas claims four of the six state finalists for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

The finalists are:

Stacy Dustman, Tucker Elementary School, Rogers School District

Anna Shaw, Kelly Middle School, Springdale School District

Cheri DeSoto, Holt Middle School, Fayetteville School District

Joyce Dooley, Ardis Ann Middle School, Bentonville School District

Amy Burks, Crestwood Elementary School, North Little Rock School District

Tonya Hogue, Mayflower Elementary School, Mayflower School District.

The National Science Foundation, on behalf of the White House, oversees the program, which recognizes outstanding teachers who have demonstrated a commitment to professional development, innovative teaching techniques and technology use in their classrooms.

A total of 51 Arkansas teachers were nominated. The state review committee selected DeSoto, Dooley, and Hogue as science finalists and Burks, Dustman, and Shaw as mathematics finalists. Arkansas' finalists are eligible to be considered for recognition by the national committee.

NW News on 09/21/2018

Print Headline: Four NWA teachers named award finalists

Sponsor Content