Today's Paper Obits Today's Photos Allegations fan Bentonville mayoral controversy NWA EDITORIAL: Be Sure, Arkansas Friday's HS football scores Home Style Crime Weather Puzzles
story.lead_photo.caption NWA Democrat-Gazette/CARIN SCHOPPMEYER Kim and Karen Esaew (from left) visit with Debby and Chris Weiser, 2018 Gentleman of Distinction, at the event's VIP reception Oct. 18. The 15th annual Bill Fleeman Gentlemen of Distinction to benefit Hope Cancer Resources will be Nov. 2 at the John Q. Hammons Center in Rogers.

Hope Cancer Resources backers gathered Oct. 18 at the Barn at the Springs for the Bill Fleeman Gentlemen of Distinction VIP gathering. The benefit dinner and men's fashion show will be Nov. 2 at the John Q. Hammons Center in Rogers. Chris Weiser, Hope Cancer Resources Foundation Board chairman and longtime Northwest Arkansas cancer support advocate, is the 2018 Gentleman of Distinction.

Proceeds will benefit patient support, survivorship, prevention education and wellness programs of Hope Cancer Resources.

At a Glance

Gentlemen of Distinction VIP

Who: Hope Cancer Resources

What: The reception was a pre-curser to the Gentlemen of Distinction benefit dinner and men’s fashion set for Friday Nov. 2.

When: Oct. 18

Where: The Barn at the Springs in Springdale

Next: Gentlemen of Distinction, Nov. 2

Information: (479) 361-5847 or

Voting event

Who: University of Arkansas Women’s Giving Circle

What: The giving group awarded $100,000 in grants to 11 programs and three scholarships.

When: Oct. 19

Where: University House on the UA campus in Fayetteville

Information: (479) 575-2681 or

The 2018 Gentlemen of Distinction models are:

Nathan Aguilera, Highlands Oncology Group;

Perry Calvert, Transplace;

Sirtric Dilworth, RB Consumer Goods;

Lee Duff, Tyson Foods Inc.;

Scott Fraser, Signature Bank of Arkansas;

Sterling Hamilton, Sage Partners Inc.;

Greg Leding, Arkansas State Representative;

Bryan McDuffie, George's Inc.

Josh McFadden, Davis Law Firm;

Brian McFarland, America's Car-Mart;

Jeff Myers, Coty Inc.;

Mike Roberts, Harps Food Stores;

John Smith, McBride Distributing;

Tyler Smith, Coty Inc.;

Kevin Thompson, Centennial Bank;

Blake Williams, MD, Premier Dermatology; and

Billy Witcofski, Wil-Shar Steel.

The University of Arkansas Women's Giving Circle marked its "sweet 16" years of supporting campus programs in the forms of grants and scholarships at the group's annual voting event Oct. 19 at University House on the UA campus in Fayetteville. The giving group awarded $100,000 in grants to 11 programs and three scholarships. The circle consists of UA alumni, faculty, staff and university backers whose contributions are combined and awarded annually.

Freshmen Nikole Hallmark, an education major from Elkins, and Anna Dooley, a history major from Fort Smith, were presented the group's Founders Endowed Advance Scholarships, and Jenna Buys, senior nursing student from Dallas, the circle's Endowed Scholarship in Nursing.

Grant recipients included Amanda Williams, Amy Warren, Ingrid Fritsch, Alison Turner, Lyn Edington, Allison Scott, Kelly Johnson, Mahendran Balasubramanian, Uche Ewelukwa, Jessi Schnebelen, Michelle Gray, Jill Rucker and Casandra Cox.

For more event photos --

Columnist Carin Schoppmeyer can be reached by email at

NAN Profiles on 10/28/2018

Print Headline: Giving group gathers

Sponsor Content