Today's Paper Obits Crime Razorback Sports Laura Bush visits Bud Walton Movie Style PREP TRACK: Wolverine Invitational Today's Photos Puzzles

University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Kyle Hooks of Bentonville was one of more than 30 University of Arkansas at Little Rock students who participated in the UA BlockChain Hackathon at the University of Arkansas held Sept. 28-29.

The hackathon featured 21 teams from Arkansas colleges and universities and was sponsored by nine large businesses such as IBM, Tyson, Heifer International and J.B. Hunt, who provided challenges focused on using BlockChain technology for teams to present during the competition. Each of the nine sponsors chose a team to advance to the finals where they presented their results against the winners of other challenges.

"BlockChain refers to a distributed database platform that allows for the secure processing and management of transactions across a network," explained Dr. Liz Pierce, chair of UA Little Rock's Department of Information Science. "It is the technology behind BitCoin and is also of great interest to companies like J.B. Hunt and Walmart who want to be able to track transactions across many different producers and suppliers."

Two UA Little Rock teams, representing J.B. Hunt and ArcBest, each won in their challenges and presented their developments in the finals. All of UA Little Rock's competitors were undergraduates with little to no prior BlockChain experience or knowledge, while most of their competition came from graduate students from the University of Arkansas' BlockChain Center of Excellence.

Students Karen Watts, Michael DiCicco, and Brenda Nyangweso won J.B. Hunt's challenge and went on to represent them in the finals, along with Aaron David, Brock Butler, Hunter Wright, Ian Thompson, and Sunny Singh from the ArcBest team.

An additional 25 more UA Little Rock students also took part in the competition: Thomas Emmerling, Naveed Siddiqui, Brenda Chepkorir, Yinqi Chen, Ryan Moore, Peter Israsena, Hengchang Liao, Nicholas Stewart, Zhenlin Jin, Kyle Hooks, Zachary Long, Bushra Sajid, Saba Khalid, Christopher Lewis, Brady Moore, Moteet Bakeman, Mughal Minhaj Uddin, Lucas Rayburn, Hitaxiben Patel, Donovan Valestin, Shibani Lal, Richard Young, Malik El-Amin, Christian Aqui, and Kristen Stewart.

Open Education Southern Symposium

Bryana Herrera of Springdale is one of a group of students who presented at the Open Education Southern Symposium held Oct. 1-2 at the University of Arkansas.

The symposium, co-sponsored by the University Libraries and Global Campus, connected supporters of open education for presentations, lightning talks, and panel discussions.

Open educational resources (OER) are educational materials in the public domain or introduced with an open license, meaning they can be used freely. Educational materials like textbooks, curriculum, lecture notes, syllabi, assignments, and tests would be open to the public and could be used by students and faculty without cost.

Edma Delgado-Solozano, assistant professor of Spanish, and students from the Spanish Introduction to Literature and Cultural Studies Class gave a presentation describing their development of materials for an OER textbook, the Antologia abierta de literatura hispana.

The textbook is the brainchild of Julie Ward, assistant professor of Spanish from the University of Oklahoma. The textbook is produced with student-generated content through the development of critical editions of canonical texts from Hispanic literature. The goal of this project is to crowd source entries including introductions, annotations in the text, and discussion questions of important literary texts in the public domain.

University of Arkansas at Little Rock

University of Arkansas at Little Rock students put on a successful production of William Shakespeare's comedy As You Like It Oct. 10-14 in the Center for Performing Arts' Haislip Theatre.

Local UA Little Rock students who participated in the play included Selena Gordon of Fort Smith, playing Rosalind, and Jessica Ley of Rogers, playing Celia.

Biola University

Jacob Keeney of Rogers was one of approximately 1,500 students who were named to Biola University's (La Mirada, Calif.) dean's list in spring 2018, with a grade point average of 3.60 or higher while enrolled in 12 or more credit units and whose cumulative grade point average is at least a 3.20.

Northwest Technical Institute

Ethan Mills, Automotive Service Technology student at Northwest Technical Institute in Springdale, has won the British Iron Touring Club of Northwest Arkansas scholarship for $1,000 in Matco Tools.

Rogers State University

Jacob Forbes of Springdale graduated from Rogers State University in Claremore, Okla., with a bachelor's degree as part of the graduating class for summer 2018.

Northwest Arkansas Community College

Bernadette Holt, a Northwest Arkansas Community College student pursing an associate of science degree in business, was recently named Outstanding Student by the Arkansas Community Colleges Association. She is president of Sigma Kappa Delta and was a founding member of the Honors Student Association.

She presented a paper at the Great Plains Honors Council Conference and was the featured speaker at the Single Parent Scholarship Fund of NWA's "Spark of Hope" fundraiser. She has been a volunteer with the Museum of Native American History, the Lester C. Howick Animal Shelter and the NWACC Career Pathways office. After graduating, she plans to seek a bachelor's in business administration.

University of Arkansas at Fort Smith

Haylie West of Prairie Grove has been named director of Cub Camp at the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith.

Cub Camp is a three-day event held on the UAFS campus for incoming freshmen that introduces them to the campus, faculty, classmates and campus traditions. Entirely led by UAFS students, the camp helps new students create a connection to campus and ease the transition from high school to college.

West will lead the yearlong complex process of planning for Cub Camp, beginning in early October with the interviewing and selecting of director and support staff. From there, West will help plan and lead training for staff, overseeing freshmen registration, and planning the camp's schedule.

Grantham University

Brittany Howes of Van Buren graduated with an online AAS medical coding and billing from Grantham University.

Southern Arkansas University

Simon Tursky of Van Buren was part of Southern Arkansas University Theatre's production of Antigone at Harton Theatre Nov. 8-17.

Tursky is a sophomore performing arts: musical theater major and is an electrician and is Haemon on the Gold Cast for the play.

Written by acclaimed French playwright Jean Anouilh and translated to English by Lewis Galantiere, Antigone is based on the Sophocles play of the same name. It focuses on a young woman who is faced with the moral dilemma of following the law decreed by her uncle Creon, the king, or doing what she believes will provide justice for her family.

The play is under the stage direction of Wally Eastland, production manager and resident designer. He is also the scenic designer for this play.

NAN Our Town on 11/08/2018

Print Headline: School news

Sponsor Content