Today's Paper Obits Today's Photos Northwest Profiles NWA EDITORIAL: The enforcers Best of Northwest Arkansas Crime Puzzles
story.lead_photo.caption Ford

UAMS clinic

receives award

The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Northwest Regional Campus was recently awarded the "Star of Community Achievement Award" by the Group on Regional Medical Campuses, part of the Association of American Medical Colleges.

The award is presented to a campus program "which has positively impacted the community it serves." The North Street Clinic earned the recognition. The clinic is a student-led inter-professional clinic providing care to members of the local Marshallese community living with diabetes who have no insurance or other means to pay for services,

Mercy health recognizes

Fort Smith employees

Mercy health system in Fort Smith recently recognized six employees and a community leader for consistently modeling Mercy's values of dignity, justice, service, excellence and stewardship. Each year, Mercy Fort Smith selects five "Living Our Values" honorees from nominations. This year's recipients include for dignity -- Rachael Waggoner, registered nurse, patient placement and staffing, Mercy Hospital; justice: Kevin Peoples, food services supervisor, Mercy Hospital; service -- Shirley McGrath, environmental service tech, Mercy Hospital; excellence -- Gary Bowman, patient transporter, Mercy Hospital; stewardship -- Lisa Thorne, senior financial analyst, Mercy Clinic.

Mercy also selected an employee and a Fort Smith community member for the Lamplighter Award, which encapsulates all of Mercy's values and honors those who guide others and keep them moving forward. Dr. Tony Flippin of Mercy Clinic Oncology received the co-worker award, and Jerry Glidewell of the Fort Smith Boys & Girls Clubs the community award.

Artists celebrated

in Eureka Springs

Main Street Eureka Springs celebrated the artists of Eureka Springs with an ArtinSauce community dinner May 30.

Winners were photographer -- first, Richard Quick; second, Edward Robison; and third, John Rankine; painter -- first, John Robert Willer; second, Larry Mansker; and third, Diana Harvey; sculptor -- first, Mel Shipley; second, Stephen Feilbach; and third, Mary Springer; performance artist -- first, Raymond Ulibarri and Emma Anne from The Melonlight Ballroom; second, Michael Carey; and third, Melanie Nauman; musician -- first, Sad Daddy; second, Pearl Brick; and third, Eureka Music Revival; writer -- first, Keith Scales; second, Mackenzie Doss; third, Wendy Taylor Carlyle; arts dducator -- first, Doug Stowe; second, Dan Morris; and third, Doug Powell; body artist -- first, Stella Ipswitch of Abyss Tattoo Studio and gallery; second, Jeremy Shockyall; and third, Joseph Linker; emerging artist (younger than 25) -- first, Shannon Newcomb and Eva Robison; second, Ian Evans and Samantha Miller; and third, Wyatt Beck.

Boys State

Arkansas Senate

Jake Webb and Kevin Gray, both of Fayetteville, were elected to the Arkansas Boys State Senate on May 29, as part of the 78th annual session of the program, which is sponsored by the Arkansas American Legion. Arkansas Boys State, hosted at the University of Central Arkansas in Conway, is a youth leadership program for rising high school seniors designed to foster patriotism and relationship through a mock government scenario. As senators, Webb and Gray met with Arkansas senators about mock legislation on topics such as public health, education and taxes and voted on the legislation June 1 in the Capitol senate chamber in Little Rock.

Barker earns

Eagle Scout

Aaron Nicholas Barker of Boy Scout Troop 36 in Bentonville completed his Eagle Scout Court of Honor on May 5. His Eagle Scout service project involved building a fence around the old Ramsour-Nimmo Family Cemetery, established in 1862 in Ritchey, Mo. He is the son of Lesley and Brian Barker of Bentonville and Lena and Patrick Bynum of Neosho, Mo.

BWA names

executive director

The Beaver Watershed Alliance board of directors has selected Clell Ford as the new executive director. He is responsible for overseeing activities, managing grants for watershed protection and education, and identifying opportunities to maintain high-quality drinking water in Beaver Lake and improve water quality in the Beaver Lake watershed.

Young filmmakers

earn scholarships

The Arkansas Educational Television Network has announced winners of the Thea Foundation young filmmakers scholarship competition and the Arkansas Historic Places Film Prize. In addition to possible broadcast on AETN, the competition gives Arkansas student filmmakers the opportunity for streaming on, scholarship and prize competitions, and screenings, including the student filmmakers showcase and the Hot Springs documentary film festival.

The Thea Foundation awarded $2,500 scholarships in the categories of screenwriting, directing, cinematography and editing. Local winners include Rhianydd Hylton of Bentonville High School, directing, for Mirror Mirror; Chandler Shewmaker of Bentonville High School, cinematography for Spring Valley Anglers Trout Story; Sophia Thomas of Eureka Springs High School, script writing for The Copsicle Caper.

Fifth- through 12th-grade students competed for the Arkansas historic places student film prize with documentaries about any historic site in the state 50 or more years old. Local winners were Ian Linn, Noah Chacon, Collin Schultz and Jordan Giacalone of Fayetteville High School, second prize for Berry on the Square; Bella Warner, Obediah Kimmel, Harrison Bradford, Owen Hicks and Luis Ayala of Fayetteville High School, third prize, Wired to the Past: A Vision Into the Future; Logan Bailey of Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences & Arts in Hot Springs, honorable mention, Ghosts of Greenwood: Memories of Greenwood Elementary.

"Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase" will air on AETN in September and October. AETN will host youth filmmaking workshops and screenings of student films in October at the Hot Springs film festival.

NAN Our Town on 06/21/2018

Print Headline: People and Places

Sponsor Content