Today's Paper Obits Crime Today's Photos Movie Style WALLY HALL: National championship anniversary set NWA EDITORIAL: False target Puzzles

Arkansans involved in preserving the state's heritage and historic properties were honored Jan. 19 at the Arkansas Preservation Awards. Hosted by Preserve Arkansas, the reception, dinner and awards ceremony were held at the Albert Pike Memorial Temple.

Preserve Arkansas Board President Bobby Braly welcomed the sold-out crowd and spoke about the importance of saving Arkansas' structures and places for cultural, environmental and economic reasons.

During the program, Tommy Jameson was given the Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement. Projects receiving awards included the Cameron Bluff Amphitheater at Mount Magazine State Park; the Springfield Bridge Preservation Project in Conway; the Arkansas Democrat Lofts in Little Rock; the Thompson Building/The Waters Hotel in Hot Springs; the War Eagle Bridge in Hindsville; Cane Hill College in Canehill; and the Isaac Homard House in Little Rock.

Excellence in Personal Project Awards were given to Zachary Smith and Cheryl Roorda of Hot Springs and Chris Olsen of North Little Rock. The Park Avenue Community Association of Hot Springs received the Outstanding Service in Neighborhood Preservation award.

Awards were also given to the Arkansas Archeological Survey for Excellence in Heritage Preservation and for Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Education; First United Methodist Church of Forrest City for Outstanding Preservation Reporting in the Media; The University of Arkansas Press for Outstanding Preservation Publication; and The Mosaic Templars Building Preservation Society for Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Advocacy.

-- Story and photos by Cary Jenkins

Gallery: Arkansas Preservation Awards

High Profile on 01/28/2018

Print Headline: Preservers of state's history given their due at ceremony

Sponsor Content