Today's Paper Obits Today's Photos Razorbacks Sports OPINION: Learning by example Outdoors Crime Weather Puzzles
story.lead_photo.caption NWA Democrat-Gazette/CARIN SCHOPPMEYER Henry Smith (from left), Angela Mosley-Monts, Dawn James, Javannah Hinton and Todd Jenkins gather at the 22nd annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Recommitment Banquet on Monday evening at the Fayetteville Town Center.

Shiloh Museum of Ozark History welcomed guests Jan. 13 for the 10th annual Cabin Fever Reliever open house and collectors' showcase. Victorian knife rests, tobacco collectibles, Mexican feather craft, toy horses, Hardanger embroidery, Scandinavian and Asian collectibles and toy trucks were among the treasures displayed by dozens of collectors at the museum in Springdale.

Scott Test took home the event's Viewers' Choice Award for his collection of safety razors, shaving mugs and other hair-trimming items.

Cabin Fever Reliever

Who: Shiloh Museum of Ozark History

What: Collectors showcased their treasures.

When: Jan. 13

Where: The museum in Springdale

Information: (479) 750-8165 or

Recommitment Banquet

Who: Northwest Arkansas Martin Luther King Jr. Council

What: The council honored community leaders and awarded scholarships.

When: Monday Jan. 15

Where: Fayetteville Town Center


Awards luncheon

Who: United Way of Northwest Arkansas

What: The group recognized the organizations and individuals who helped them raise some $1.67 million.

When: Wed. Jan.17

Where: The Jones Center in Springdale

Information: (479) 750-1221 or

Among those relieving cabin fever were Dolores Stamps, April Rusch, Jeremy Hodges, Mary Vaughan, Wanda Wooldridge and Joanie Swarthout.

The 22nd annual Recommitment Banquet held the evening of Jan. 15, wrapped up three days of prayer, community service, a march and other activities to mark Martin Luther King Jr. Day. The banquet at the Fayetteville Town Center, "MLK50 Forward: Together we win with love for humanity," was presented by the Northwest Arkansas Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Council to honor community leaders and award $1,000 scholarships. Proceeds from the annual dinner help support the scholarship fund.

Community leaders lauded with Salute to Greatness were:

mRedell Thompson -- Lifetime Achievement;

mOrnette Gaines, M.D. -- Ernestine White-Gibson Individual Achievement;

mJoseph "Joey" Daniels -- Rodney Momon Youth/Young Adult;

mBetty Davis -- The Rev. J.A. Hawkins Posthumous Award; and

mNorthwest Arkansas Community Clinic -- Nonprofit/Corporation of the Year.

The United Way of Northwest Arkansas celebrated a successful campaign year with an awards luncheon Wednesday at the Jones Center in Springdale. The group recognized the organizations and individuals who helped them raise some $1.67 million.

Organizations recognized for their contributions to the campaign included Dr Pepper Snapple Group, Bentonville Schools, Black Hills Energy, Hight-Jackson Associates, Simmons Food, EY, Kimberly-Clark, Southwestern Electric Power and Synchrony Financial. Myrtia Ruskauff was named Volunteer of the Year.

Those gathering to celebrate the campaign included Larry Manry, Sarah Heimer, Sara Van Vleck, Ralph Nesson, Patty Sullivan, Stacy Leeds and Helena Gadison.

For more event photos --

Columnist Carin Schoppmeyer can be reached by email at

NAN Profiles on 01/21/2018

Print Headline: Council lauds community leaders

Sponsor Content