Today's Paper Obits Newsletters Home Style Crime Best Ever!: High School Sports Legends State Posts Surplus Razorback Sports Today's Photos Puzzles
story.lead_photo.caption Photo courtesy/Stephen Ironside Adrienne Kvello Candidate District 84

FAYETTEVILLE -- Adrienne Kvello of Fayetteville dropped her Democratic bid for the state House District 84 seat Thursday morning to run for Washington County Circuit Clerk, she said.

Kvello's decision leaves fellow Democrat Denise Garner, also of Fayetteville, as the remaining announced challenger to incumbent Rep. Charlie Collins, R-Fayetteville.

"This decision was not arrived at easily," Kvello said in a statement. "However, it is what is best for the party, and for the realities of my family's current situation. It allows us to present a united front against Charlie Collins and also have a strong woman candidate for circuit clerk -- a race that has gone uncontested for far too long."

Current Circuit Clerk Kyle Sylvester took office after the 2012 election, in which he defeated Democratic nominee Mona Piazza. He was unopposed for re-election in 2014 and 2016.

Kvello, 39, is an attorney and small-business co-owner. She and her husband, Eric, own Eagle Eye Inspections, a home inspection business. She is licensed to practice law in Arkansas and Oklahoma. She is also a graduate of Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., and the University of Houston Law School in Texas.

Kvello practiced law in Texas until her family moved to Fayetteville in August 2014, she said.

Garner, 61, is a volunteer, nonprofit group leader and retired nurse practitioner who ran for state Democratic Party chairwoman last year.

Arkansas House District 84 encompasses much of eastern Fayetteville, a swath of Washington County south of the city, Greenland and the northern part of West Fork.

Candidate filing for party primaries in Arkansas begins Feb. 22 and ends March 1. The primary is set for May 22 with the general election Nov. 6. Arkansas House members serve two-year terms and have an annual salary of $39,400. Members can serve 16 years in the Legislature under the state constitution's current limit on terms.

NW News on 01/19/2018

Print Headline: Kvello drops House bid

Sponsor Content