Today's Paper Obits Today's Photos Northwest Profiles NWA EDITORIAL: The enforcers Best of Northwest Arkansas Crime Puzzles

Department hires associate director

The Arkansas Department of Higher Education has hired a new senior associate director for academic affairs.

Jessie Walker started Jan. 29 in the role vacated by Marla Strecker, who left last fall to become the provost of the University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College.

Walker previously worked at Jackson State University in Jackson, Miss., as the chairman of the computer science department. He has also previously worked at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff.

ASU loan requests considered viable

The Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board has deemed two loans for two Arkansas State University System campuses economically feasible.

Arkansas State University's Jonesboro campus wants a loan of up to $1 million from the state's Sustainable Building and Design Revolving Loan Fund, which is managed by the Arkansas Building Authority. The loan would be for up to a decade and would not have any interest, according to board documents.

ASU will use the loan to replace roofs for the Fowler Center, College of Education and Communications, and the Military Science Armory buildings -- a project the university said will increase energy efficiency through increased insulation and solar reflectance.

The project will cost about $1.3 million, and the university will use utility and operational savings from the energy improvements, as well as funds reserved for deferred maintenance, to pay for the remainder of the costs.

Arkansas State University's Mid-South campus wants a loan of up to $1.5 million for a contract to carry out energy improvements at its campus. That loan would last for up to 20 years and have a maximum interest rate of 3.3 percent, according to board documents.

New leaders named at education board

The Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board will soon be under new leadership.

Current chairman Sherrel Johnson of El Dorado will be leaving the role because her term is expiring. Charles Allen of Little Rock will take on the chairman's position for the coming year.

Jim Carr of Searcy will become the vice chairman of the board, and Sam Sicard of Fort Smith will become the board's secretary.

The board has nominated new officers for its foundation, which helps fund minor projects for the state Department of Higher Education.

Metro on 02/11/2018

Print Headline: Higher education coordinating board notebook

Sponsor Content