Today's Paper Digital FAQ Obits Newsletters NWA Vaccine Information Chaos in Congress Timeline Covid Classroom Coronavirus NWA Screening Sites Virus Interactive Map Coronavirus FAQ Crime Razorback Sports Today's Photos Puzzles
story.lead_photo.caption Arkansas State quarterback Justice Hansen (15) completed 46 of 68 passes for 415 yards and 3 touchdowns in a 43-36 loss to Nebraska on Saturday night in Lincoln, Neb.

Arkansas State University quarterback Justice Hansen has been named to the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Watch List released Tuesday.

It's the second time the senior has appeared on the watch list for the award, which is given annually to the country's top college quarterback.

Candidates must be seniors or fourth-year juniors who are on track to graduate with their class. Hansen graduated from Arkansas State with a bachelor’s in general studies and is working toward a master’s degree in sports administration.

Nominees must also demonstrate good character, scholastic achievement and leadership qualities.

Hansen joins Fredi Knighten, Ryan Aplin and Corey Leonard as the fourth Arkansas State quarterback to appear on the list, but he is the only one to be recognized twice, according to a news release from the university. He was nominated as a junior in 2017.

After Tuesday's announcement by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Education Foundation, Hansen has now been named to five preseason watch lists, including the Walter Camp Award, Wuerffel Trophy, Davey O’Brien Award and Maxwell Award.

The Oklahoman started every game at quarterback last year and set school and conference records for passing touchdowns with 37 and total offense with 4,389 yards, the release states.

Arkansas State will open its season at 6 p.m. Sept. 1 at home against Southeast Missouri State.

Sponsor Content


COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.