Today's Paper Obits Today's Photos HomeStyle MOVIE REVIEW: 'Into the Spider-Verse' NWA EDITORIAL: Pat, pat, pat Best of Northwest Arkansas Crime Puzzles

The Arkansas Supreme Court Historical Society honored 16 female appellate judges Oct. 26 at a reception and dinner at the Governor's Mansion.

Eighth Circuit U.S. Appeals Court Chief Judge Lavenski Smith was the special guest. Jacqueline Walker, president of the historical society, was master of ceremonies.

The honored judges were:

• Karen Baker, associate justice of the Arkansas Supreme Court since 2011 and former judge on the Arkansas Court of Appeals from 2001-2010.

Beth Coulson, Appeals Court judge from 1987-88.

• Elizabeth "Betsy" Danielson, Appeals Court judge from 1991-92.

Betty Dickey, chief justice of the Supreme Court in 2004 and associate Supreme Court judge from 2005-2006.

Courtney Goodson, Supreme Court judge since 2011 and Appeals Court judge from 2009-2010.

Rita Gruber, Appeals Court judge since 2009 and chief judge since 2017.

• Josephine Hart, Supreme Court judge since 2013 and Appeals Court judge from 1999-2012.

Sarah Heffley, Appeals Court judge from 2007-2008.

Margaret Ising, Appeals Court judge from 1997-2000.

Judith Rogers, Appeals Court judge from 1989-2000.

Annabelle Clinton Imber Tuck, Supreme Court judge from 1997-2009.

Elana Wills, Supreme Court judge from 2008-2010.

Rhonda Wood, Supreme Court judge since 2015 and Appeals Court judge from 2013-2014.

Three judges were honored posthumously. They are:

• Marian Fox Penix, Appeals Court judge from 1979-80.

• Andree Layton Roaf, Supreme Court judge from 1995-96 and Appeals Court judge from 1997-2006.

• Elsijane Trimble Roy, Supreme Court judge from 1975-77.

-- Story and photos by

Rachel O'Neal

Gallery: Judges reception and dinner

High Profile on 11/05/2017

Print Headline: Justice league

Sponsor Content