Today's Paper Obits Newsletters Home Style Crime Frisco Fest returns High School Football Preview Razorback Sports Today's Photos Puzzles

Rogers reunion planned for fall

The annual fall reunion of former students, teachers and administrators of the old Rogers Public High School in the 500 block of West Walnut Street will be held from 9 a.m. to noon Oct. 1 in the old Kirksey gym, which is now Tillery Elementary gym.

Former students are requested to contribute $3 to cover the cost of the custodian, who sets up and cleans the gym for the reunion. Kirksey gym is behind the Rogers School District Administration Building on West Walnut Street.

Information: (479) 936-9852.

City recognizes top citizens

Bentonville Mayor Bob McCaslin named the second quarter winners of the Outstanding Citizen Awards. The award program was initiated in January 2011 to recognize the exceptional volunteer contributions of Bentonville residents. Chick-fil-A of Bentonville will sponsor the breakfast to honor the citizen and group selected for this award.

Bill Rogers. Galen Pearcy and Nate Sweeney nominated Rogers for his lifelong dedication to mentoring men and women in the Bentonville community. He has served as senior pastor at Word of Life Fellowship for 33 years, chaplain at Bates Memorial Hospital and has been an officer for many years with the Bentonville Christian Ministerial Alliance. He founded and operated the Bentonville Christian Academy for several years.

The Tour Guides of the Peel Mansion Museum and Heritage Gardens, led by Carol Harris, volunteer coordinator. Lynn Moffitt nominated the approximately 23 volunteers and staff who serve on a rotating basis. This team sets and clears tables, washes dishes, whatever is needed of them during special events at the museum.

The Outstanding Citizen Awards include three award categories: adult, youth and community group. No nominations were received this quarter for the youth category. Third quarter 2016 nominations will be accepted until Sept. 16 and winners will be announced Sept. 30. To obtain a nomination form and additional information, visit the city’s website at

Artistic Innovation awards grants

Mid-America Arts Alliance, a regional arts organization, has selected its next recipients for Artistic Innovations grants. With generous support from the Windgate Charitable Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts, grants of up to $15,000 are distributed after review and selection by a panel of artists and arts professionals. In total, more than $230,000 has been awarded to 17 grant recipients for the creation of new, original artworks that result in public engagement.

TheatreSquared received $15,000 to present the 2017 Arkansas New Play Festival, engaging more than 30 local and regional professional theater artists for two full weekends of performance, Fayetteville.

Tricycle Theatre for Youth also earned $15,000 for Adelita Rodeo: A Cinderella Story, a new, original, bilingual play, in partnership with Al Lopez and his organization One Community, Bentonville.

Bella Vista parade names ‘bests’

The Bella Vista Fourth of July Patriot parade awards included:

Best of the best attendees: Rita and Michael Callahan.

Best speaker: State Sen. Jim Hendren.

Best prayer: Harrison Pike, Patriot chaplain.

Best soloist: Phyllis Farish, Village Baptist Church.

Best Pledge of Allegiance: Bob Rishel, retired Navy officer.

Past grand marshals: Forrest Strickler and Russ Bonacker.

Best city officials: Bella Vista Mayor Peter Christie, Fire Chief Steve Sims, Police Chief Ken Farmer.

Best sponsors: Arvest Bank, Carolyn Grieve, manager; Allen’s Discount Foods, Steve Morrow; Bella Vista Recycling Center, Wally Sheldon.

Best bands: United Lutheran Church, Lois Carlson, director; Ozark Highlander Bagpipe band, Jo Ann Tyler, director.

Best special effects: White Wing Loft Doves, Julie Robins; Rifle salute, Bella Vista Honor Guard; Civil War Cannon salute, Charlie Brietzke; Northwest Arkansas Historical Society, Paul Dolle.

Taps: The Two Trumpets, Keith Wood and Armando Gutierrez.

Fireworks: Sugar Creek 10 Cinemas, Chelsea Grissom, manager.

Best dancers: Sophisticated Ladies, Carol Rolle, director; Latin Art of Arkansas, Luis Lopez, director.

Parade grand marshal: Maj. (Ret.) George Brannon, World War II Air Force.

Best float: Latin Art of Arkansas, Luis Lopez, director; The Village Plumber, Julie and Tim Hill.

Best marching unit: Knights of Columbus, Chuck Fiebig.

Best military marching unit: Color Guard, Cdr. Andy Anderson; Five Branches of the Military Marine, Cpl. (Ret.) Louis Kaslow; Civil Air Patrol 115th, Maj. Charles Rine; Group of Veterans, Cdr. Douglas Grant.

Best veteran support group: Sheep Dogs, Sgt. Maj. Lance Nutt; Disabled American Veterans, the Rev. Richard McCall.

Best motorcycle group: American Legion Riders, Cdr. Pat O’Brien.

Best military vehicles: Arkansas Army National Guard, Sgt. 1st Class, David Bredekamp.

Best antique cars: 1929 Model “A” Ford, Vern Meyer; 1956 Thunderbird, Max Gore; Corvette, Steve Conrad; 2005 Volkswagen convertible, Shirley and Bill Gilbert.

Best beauty queens: Hannah Kenner, Fourth of July Patriot Parade Queen; Loretta Saarela, Korean War Queen; Zaylee Kaufman, Little Miss Gentry; Zack Hill, Little Mister Benton County.

Best cheerleaders: Bentonville High School, Tracey Kaufman, director.

Best clubs: Cooper Elementary 4-H Club, Cassie Smith, sponsor; Daughters of the American Revolution, Lovely Purchase chapter, Gretchen Magee, president; DAR James Bright chapter, Wanda Bautts; Sons of the American Revolution, Bella Vista chapter, Les Magee; Disabled American Veterans, he Rev. Richard Mc-Call, chairman.

Best decorated golf carts: Shonet Marshall, Becky and Jeff Reed.

Best state flag: Oklahoma, Shari Ougburn.

Best church group: Village Baptist Church, Harold Johnson, pastor; Village Bible Evangelical Free Church, Mark Voll, pastor; United Lutheran Church, Lois Carlson.

Best Scout troop: Bella Vista Girl Scouts, Diane Fugett; Bella Vista Boy Scouts, Tom Pitts.

Best dog walker: Robin Heis, director, Bella Vista Animal Shelter.

Best bicycle: Stephanie Ensley.

Best buses: Cruisin’ America for Jesus, David Simms, chairman; Concordia Retirement Center, Sharon Bettis, director.

Best horses: Pony for Hire, Alex Joyce; Four Horses, Erica Benge.

Business entries: Avon, Pat Duncan; Innovation Supplier electric golf cart roadsters, Adam McFarlane.

Surprise guests: Clifton Stolpe, veteran, World War II Battle of the Bulge; Captain America, Tyler Volz; Mrs. Uncle Sam, Karen Saginetti.

Best volunteers: Jeff Goan, sound system; Bob Mathis, line-up director; Chris Urban Tom and son Tommy Murray, Patriots; Ken Sharp, Nunnally Chevrolet; Hollye Bohannan, Everett GMC.

Print Headline: People & places

Sponsor Content