Today's Paper Digital FAQ Obits River Valley Democrat-Gazette Newsletters NWA Vaccine Information NWA Screening Sites Virus Interactive Map Coronavirus FAQ Crime Razorback Sports Today's Photos Puzzles

Mayfield wins Burlsworth Trophy

by Matt Jones | December 7, 2015 at 1:00 p.m.
Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield (6) passes in the second quarter of an NCAA college football game against Oklahoma State in Stillwater, Okla., Saturday, Nov. 28, 2015. (AP Photo/Sue Ogrocki)

SPRINGDALE -- Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield won the Burlsworth Trophy on Monday as college football's best player to begin his career as a walk-on.

Mayfield was one of the nation's top quarterbacks this season, passing for 3,389 yards and 35 touchdowns. He helped lead the No. 4 Sooners to a Big 12 championship and a spot in the College Football Playoff.

Mayfield began his career as a walk-on at Texas Tech before transferring and becoming a walk-on at Oklahoma.

Washington State quarterback Luke Falk and Penn State defensive end Carl Nassib were also finalists for the award.

The Burlsworth Trophy was established in 2010 and named for former Arkansas offensive lineman Brandon Burlsworth. After walking-on to the Razorbacks, Burslworth became an all-American in 1998.


Sponsor Content