Analysis of Arkansas school security kicks off

State panel holds its first meeting

Posted: March 19, 2018 at 4:30 a.m.

Cheryl May (left), chairman of the Arkansas School Safety Commission, and Vice Chairman Bill Temple preside over the first meeting of the governor-created group on Tuesday at the Criminal Justice Institute in Little Rock.

The work of the new, 18-member Arkansas School Safety Commission -- appointed by Gov. Asa Hutchinson after the Parkland, Fla., school massacre -- is underway in its efforts to assess and make recommendations on schoolhouse safety measures.

This story is only available from our archives.