Fayetteville superintendent unfolds multi-phase safety, security plan

Posted: March 4, 2018 at 1:12 a.m.

Superintendent Matthew Wendt explained Friday the newly formed School Safety and Security Task Force is part of a larger plan to assess facility security, student mental health and faculty training.

Task force

Membership of the Safety and Security Task Force includes:

• Co-chairman John L Colbert, associate superintendent for support services for Fayetteville Public Schools

• Co-chairman Frank Johnson Sr., director of investigations for Walmart and former Fayetteville Police chief

• Conner Eldridge, former U.S. attorney for the Western District of Arkansas

• Erin Wiedermann, U.S. Magistrate for the Western District of Arkansas

• Beth Storey Bryan, Washington County Circuit judge

• Tim Helder, Washington County sheriff

• Greg Tabor, Fayetteville police chief

• Steve Gahagans, University of Arkansas chief of police

• Greg Leding, Arkansas legislator

• David Whitaker, Arkansas legislator

• Chris Lawson, Fayetteville Public Schools general counsel


• Holly Johnson, director of communications and public relations for Fayetteville Public Schools

• Susan Norton, director of communications and marketing for the City of Fayetteville

Source: Fayetteville Public Schools

Sign up for breaking news
& daily updates delivered
right to your inbox.

This story is only available from our archives.