Fayetteville honorees impart importance of perseverance

Posted: October 6, 2017 at 1:08 a.m.

NWA Democrat-Gazette/DAVID GOTTSCHALK Kathleen DuVal (from left), Laura Underwood and Martha McNair, all 2017 Fayetteville Schools Hall of Honor inductees visit Thursday at Fayetteville High School's Performing Arts Center. The three were on campus to speak with juniors and seniors. The Hall of Honor commemorates educators, alumni, and friends who have demonstrated extraordinary fidelity, honor, and service to Fayetteville Public Schools and community.

It's perseverance that's the key to success, not good grades, and it's lifelong learners that have the biggest impact on the communities they live in, the 2017 inductees to the Hall of Honor told students Thursday.

Hall of Honor purpose

The purpose of the Fayetteville Public Education Foundation is threefold:

• To provide role models for students by honoring former students who have distinguished themselves.

• Create excitement about education.

• Honor those educators and friends who have made extraordinary contributions to public education in Fayetteville.

Source: Fayetteville Public Education Foundation

This story is only available from our archives.