Fayetteville's town and gown committee changes membership, focus

Posted: November 20, 2017 at 1 a.m.

The sun sets Thursday over downtown Fayetteville and the University of Arkansas. The Town and Gown Advisory Committee, designed to encourage dialogue between city and university officials, will have fewer members, fewer meetings and a wider scope. Administrators with the city and University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, agreed to the changes this fall.

FAYETTEVILLE -- Members of a committee designed to encourage dialogue between city and university officials say its goals will be more attainable under recent changes.

Town and Gown Advisory Committee


Co-chair — Don Marr, chief of staff to the mayor

Co-chair — Laura Jacobs, chief of staff to the chancellor

City Council representative — Mark Kinion, Ward 2

Associated Student Government president — Andrew Counce

Fayetteville Public Schools representative — John L Colbert, associate superintendent

Fayetteville director of communications — Susan Norton

Associate vice chancellor, university relations — Mark Rushing

Fayetteville director of development services — Garner Stoll

Associate vice chancellor of facilities — Mike Johnson

Resident at large — Matthew Ramsey

Resident at large — Leslie Belden

Resident at large — Keith Tencleve

Resident at large — Donna Daniels

UA student living off campus — vacant

Source: Staff report

Meeting schedule

The committee will now meet at least twice yearly, as opposed to quarterly. Its next meeting is coming up.

When: 3 p.m. Monday

Where: Room 326, City Hall, 113 W. Mountain St.

This story is only available from our archives.