Washington County budget fails at Quorum Court, $5 million gap remains

Posted: November 17, 2017 at 1 a.m.

Washington County residents wait for the Quorum Court to decide whether to raise the property tax rate and pass the 2018 budget during the regular meeting Thursday at the quorum courtroom at the courthouse. The budget failed. The millage rate will remain at 3.9 mills, justices of the peace decided.

FAYETTEVILLE -- The Washington County Quorum Court failed Thursday to pass a budget, decided against raising property taxes and failed to make significant cuts to stop a $5 million gap between spending and revenue.

Budget fails

The Washington County Quorum Court failed to pass a 2018 budget during its meeting Thursday. The vote was reconsidered but the budget failed again. Justices of the peace Joseph Kieklak, Daniel Balls, Ann Harbison, Sue Madison, Eva Madison, all Democrats, and Bill Ussery and Fred Rausch, both Republicans, voted for an amended budget that cut one position. Justice of the Peace Joel Maxwell, a Republican, was absent. Justices of the peace voting against the budget were Republicans Tom Lundstrum, Harvey Bowman, Joe Patterson, Lisa Ecke, Alicia Deavens, Robert Dennis and Butch Pond.

Source: Staff report

This story is only available from our archives.