Nine artists get fellowships for their work from council

Posted: November 5, 2017 at 1:24 a.m.

Nine Arkansas artists received Fellowship Awards from the Arkansas Arts Council during a presentation Oct. 23 at the Historic Arkansas Museum.

After a wine and appetizer reception in the museum lobby, the artists were awarded the $4,000 fellowships in a program in the theater. The awards are given annually to Arkansas artists for excellence in their work.

Winners are selected from the fields of literary arts, performing arts and visual arts -- with different categories each year. This year's categories were creative nonfiction, director of documentary and narrative films and contemporary crafts.

This years Fellowship Award recipients were Caroline Beimford of Fayetteville and Jennifer Coffy Davis and Paige Martin Reynolds, both of Little Rock, for creative nonfiction; Amman Abbasi and Charles Eric White, both of Little Rock, and Russell L. Sharman of Fayetteville, for director of documentary and narrative film; and Sofia V. Gonzalez of Little Rock, Kerrick Hartman of Stuttgart and Hannah May of Hensley for contemporary craft.

-- Story and photos by Cary Jenkins

High Profile on 11/05/2017