Walking the walk

Stations of the Cross help parishioners better relate to Jesus’ final days

Posted: March 18, 2017 at 2:08 a.m.

Station 11 at St. Edward Catholic Church in Little Rock depicts Jesus being nailed to the cross. The 14 stations follow Jesus’ path to the crucifixion.

Each Friday during Lent, parishioners at Immaculate Conception Catholic Church in Fort Smith walk in the footsteps of Jesus through a devotion known as the Stations of the Cross.

Station 3 at St. Edward Catholic Church shows Jesus falling as he is forced to carry the cross. The Stations of the Cross are a common devotion during...

Stations of the Cross

1 -- Jesus is condemned to death

2 -- Jesus takes up his cross

3 -- Jesus falls the first time

4 -- Jesus meets his mother

5 -- Simon of Cyrene helps carry the cross

6 -- Veronica wipes the face of Jesus

7 -- Jesus falls a second time

8 -- Jesus meets with the women of Jerusalem

9 -- Jesus falls a third time

10 -- Jesus is stripped of his clothes

11 -- Jesus is nailed to the cross

12 -- Jesus dies on the cross

13 -- The body of Jesus is taken down from the cross

14 -- Jesus is laid in the tomb

This story is only available from our archives.