Washington County Quorum Court mulls 'retroactive' exemption for former member

Posted: February 17, 2017 at 1:05 a.m.

The Washington County Courthouse, Tuesday, February 14, 2017 in downtown Fayetteville.

Justices of the peace failed Thursday to move forward a proposal meant to make sure former Justice of the Peace Sharon Lloyd is legally employed at the county.

How they voted:

Washington County’s Quorum Court failed to move to a second reading an ordinance to exempt former Justice of the Peace Sharon Lloyd from the county’s Employee Handbook code barring elected officials from county employment for one year. Voting against it: Democrats Eva Madison, Sue Madison, Ann Harbison and Republicans Joel Maxwell and Lisa Ecke. Voting for it: Bill Ussery, Butch Pond, Tom Lundstrum, Joe Patterson, Harvey Bowman, Robert Dennis, all Republicans, and Democrat Daniel Balls. Roddy Lloyd, a Republican and Lloyd’s husband, and Joseph Kieklak, a Democrat, abstained. The measure needed 10 votes to pass to the second reading.

Source: Staff Report

This story is only available from our archives.