Stations of the Cross

Christians Reflect on Jesus’ Pain, Humiliation, Death...

Posted: March 22, 2014 at 5 a.m.

STAFF PHOTO JASON IVESTER According to tradition Mary, the mother of Jesus, started the Stations of the Cross with daily visits to the sites of her son’s sufferings, death and Resurrection. Early Christian pilgrims traveled to Jerusalem to follow the path, and the Franciscans brought the tradition to Europe in the 15th and 16th centuries.

The Rev. Lowell Grisham of Fayetteville walked in the footsteps of Jesus.

Stations of the Cross

Opening Prayer

  1. Jesus is condemned to death.

  2. Jesus carries his cross.

  3. Jesus falls the first time.

  4. Jesus meets his mother.

  5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus to carry his cross.

  6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.

  7. Jesus falls the second time.

  8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem.

  9. Jesus falls a third time.

  10. Jesus clothes are taken away.

  11. Jesus is nailed to the cross.

  12. Jesus dies on the cross.

  13. The body of Jesus is taken down from the cross.

  14. Jesus is laid in the tomb.

— Catholic Online

Stations of the Cross


St. Bernard Catholic Church

Hours: 4:30 p.m. each Friday

Location: 1 St. Bernard Lane, Bella Vista

Information: 855-9069,

St. Paul’s Episcopal Church

Hours: 6 p.m. each Friday

Location: 224 N. East Ave., Fayetteville

Information: 442-7373,

Fellowship Bible Church

Of Northwest Arkansas

Hours: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. April 18

Location: Fellowship Bentonville Annex

1201 S. Walton Blvd.

(Above Bentonville Butcher & Deli)

Information: 659,8884,

This story is only available from our archives.