Former UA coach Ford on hall of fame ballot

Posted: March 6, 2014 at 10:43 a.m.

Former Arkansas coach Danny Ford listens during a press conference for the Burlsworth Trophy on Aug. 23, 2010 in Fayetteville.

— Former Arkansas coach Danny Ford is one of six former FBS coaches on the ballot for this year's College Football Hall of Fame class.

Ford began coaching the Razorbacks in 1993 and finished his time in Fayetteville with a 26-30-1 record. He was fired following his third 4-7 season in 1997.

Arkansas coach Danny Ford is lifted by Razorback players following their 17-16 win over Alabama at Bryant-Denny Stadium in Tuscaloosa, Ala., on Saturd...

Under Ford, Arkansas had only one winning season, finishing 8-5 in 1995 and earning the program's first ever division championship in the Southeastern Conference. Ford never coached again after his time with the Razorbacks.

Ford is best known for his time at Clemson, where he went 96-29-4 in 12 seasons. In 1981 Ford led the Tigers to a national championship after beating Nebraska in the Orange Bowl.

He played college football for Bear Bryant at Alabama and began his coaching career with the Crimson Tide as an assistant in 1973. He was also an assistant coach at Virginia Tech and Clemson before accepting the Tigers head coaching position in 1979.

Other coaches on this year's hall of fame ballot are Mike Belotti, Pete Cawthon, Billy Jack Murphy, Jim Carlen and Darryl Rogers.

There are 75 former players from current FBS programs on the ballot. Among the most notable are Eric Dickerson, Ray Lewis, Ricky Williams, Warren Sapp, Ladanian Tomlinson, Brian Bosworth, Derrick Thomas, Eric Crouch, Randall Cunningham, Keyshawn Johnson and Pine Bluff native Willie Roaf.

The 2014 College Football Hall of Fame class will be announced in May and inducted in December.