Farmers, ranchers affected by June storms to get federal help

Posted: July 23, 2014 at 3:58 p.m.

LITTLE ROCK — U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack has made disaster declarations for farmers and ranchers in 10 Arkansas counties who suffered losses due to storms that began in the affected areas June 29.

Vilsack issued disaster declarations Wednesday in response to flood conditions in Cross, Independence, Jackson, Lee, Lonoke, Monroe, Prairie, St. Francis, White and Woodruff counties.

Additionally, a declaration providing flood-related aid also applies to 13 Arkansas counties that are next to the declared region.

Included in that declaration are Arkansas, Cleburne, Craighead, Crittenden, Faulkner, Izard, Jefferson, Lawrence, Phillips, Poinsett, Pulaski, Sharp, and Stone counties.

Farmers who feel they may qualify for this federal aid should contact their local Farm Service Agency office.


« Previous Story

U.S. gives state $1 million for winter cleanu...

The U.S. Department of Labor is giving Arkansas $1 million to help continue cleanup operations following a December winter storm. Read »

Next Story »

Bentonville Man Arrested In Connection With G...


BENTONVILLE -- Police said Friday they had a warrant to arrest Michael Eugene Conklin in connection with his g... Read »