Fayetteville's Leverett School Continues STEM Focus

Designated As School Of Innovation By State

Posted: July 14, 2014 at 1:30 a.m.

FILE DAVID GOTTSCHALK Maurissa Roberts, right, Projects Lead the Way teacher at Leverett Elementary School, works with Kele Estes-Beard, from left, Grady Gottschalk, Anshuman Nandy, assistant principal Joe McClung and Joseph Casey on Feb. 26 at the Fayetteville School.

FAYETTEVILLE -- Early observations indicate student learning is on the upswing at Leverett Elementary School because of a continuing shift in instruction that started two years ago.

At A Glance

School of Innovation

A School of Innovation is a new designation for schools as a result of Act 601 adopted by the Arkansas Legislature in the 2013 session. A school may apply for waivers from existing state education standards which have a high likelihood improve outcomes for students. The State Education Commissioner is charged with approving applications for Schools of Innovation. Beside Leverett Elementary in Fayetteville, six Springdale schools were approved as Schools of Innovation. They are Springdale and Har-Ber high schools; Central, George and Lakeside junior high schools; and Westwood Elementary School

Source: Staff Report

This story is only available from our archives.