Burn ban issued for 6 more counties

Posted: January 23, 2014 at 11:44 a.m.
Updated: January 23, 2014 at 6:04 p.m.

Six more Arkansas counties have been placed under a widespread burn ban, the Arkansas Forestry Commission reported Thursday.

Baxter, Lonoke, Carroll, Randolph, Prairie and Marion counties are the latest additions to the rapidly growing list, bringing the total number of counties currently under the ban to 32, according to the commission's website.

A continuous series of arctic air masses entering the state has brought strong, gusty winds, and more are on the way — which, coupled with low humidity levels, means more areas will have an increased risk of wildfires — National Weather Service meteorologist Julie Lesko of North Little Rock told the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette on Wednesday.

County judges generally issue bans if winds are 10 to 20 mph and humidity levels are between 20 percent and 40 percent, the newspaper reported.

Read more in tomorrow's Arkansas Democrat-Gazette.