13 Arkansas counties included in federal disaster declaration

Posted: January 6, 2014 at 5:26 p.m.

The state Department of Emergency Management says 13 Arkansas counties are included in a federal disaster declaration requested following a winter storm in early December.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said Monday it will make public assistance grants available to communities for emergency work to repair or replace facilities that were damaged in the storm.

Counties included in the order are Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Newton, Polk, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sharp and Van Buren. The declaration does not provide for assistance to individuals, though some nonprofits may be eligible.


« Previous Story

Schaffer hired as Fayetteville Veterans Home ...

Kriss Schaffer — former co-owner of a Charleston area nursing home — has been hired as the new administrator of the Fayetteville Veterans Home and charged with the task of ... Read »

Next Story »

2013's revolving restaurant scene

Arkansas Democrat-Gazette/JENNIFER CHRISTMAN - The dining room at Table 28.

All the world’s a stage, And all the restaurants are merely players. They have their exits and their entrances... Read »