Benton County Officials Draw Foes On First Filing Day

Posted: February 25, 2014 at 5 a.m.

A race for Benton County judge developed Monday in the first hour of filing for candidates for the May preferential primaries.


Primary Candidates

Filing for the May 20 preferential primaries opened at noon Feb. 24 and continues through noon March 3. The following candidates filed Monday:

Benton County Filings

Republican Party

County Judge

• Bob Clinard*

• Dale King

• Ronnie L. Smith


• Glenn “Bear” Chaney*

Circuit Clerk

• Brenda DeShields*

County Clerk

• Tena O’Brien*


• Gloria Peterson*


• Daniel Oxford*


• Deanna Ratcliffe*

Justice of the Peace

District 1

• Mike McKenzie*

• Ron Easley

District 5

• Kevin Harrison*

District 6

• Pat Adams*

District 8

• Shirley Sandlin*

District 9

• Susan Anglin*

District 11

• Steve Curry*

District 13

• Kurt Moore*

District 14

• Brent Meyers*


District 1

• Ronald Garratt

District 2

• Keith Brummett*

District 3

• Sam Reyna*

District 4

• Gordon Fisher*

• Charlene Newell

*Denotes incumbent

Source: Benton County Clerk’s Office

This story is only available from our archives.


« Previous Story

Washington County filings

The following candidates filed Monday for local political offices at the Washington County Courthouse. Filing for the May 20 party primaries continues through noon March 3. Read »

Next Story »

Helicopter in Fayetteville's Walker Park Part...

A helicopter that touched down Sunday and Monday in Walker Park was part of a training exercise for Central Emergency Medical Service, southern Washington County's ambulanc... Read »