Richardson, Sutton finalists for Hall of Fame

Posted: February 14, 2014 at 4:48 p.m.

Eddie Sutton, left, former President Bill Clinton, center, and Nolan Richardson, right, call the "Hogs" during halftime of an NCAA college basketball game between Arkansas and LSU on Saturday, Feb. 15, 2014, in Fayetteville, Ark. (AP Photo/Gareth Patterson)

— Former Arkansas coaches Nolan Richardson and Eddie Sutton are two of 10 finalists for the 2014 Basketball Hall of Fame class.

Sutton and Richardson coached the Razorbacks from 1974 to 2002, spanning the most successful era in the program's history. The two men combined to win 649 games at Arkansas and advance to four Final Fours.

Richardson won the school's only NCAA championship in 1994 and finished runner-up the next season. He won 389 games in 17 seasons at Arkansas.

Sutton won 260 games for the Razorbacks and advanced to the 1978 Final Four. After leaving Arkansas for Kentucky, Sutton found his most success during a 16-year career at Oklahoma State, where he won 368 games and advanced to two Final Fours.

Other finalists for this year's hall of fame class include Alonzo Mourning, Tim Hardaway, Kevin Johnson, Mitch Redmond, Spencer Haywood, Gary Williams, Harley Redin and Immaculata University. This year's inductees will be announced April 7.