Deadline nears for disaster loan applications

Posted: August 26, 2014 at 4:21 p.m.

LITTLE ROCK — The U.S. Small Business Administration says the deadline is nearing for small, nonfarm business in 16 Arkansas counties and neighboring parishes and counties in Louisiana and Mississippi affected by drought to apply for disaster loans.

The deadline is Sept. 15 to apply for the Economic Injury Disaster Loan. The loans are available to small, nonfarm businesses that are dependent on farmers and ranchers who suffered losses due to the drought that began Oct. 1, 2013.

The Arkansas counties are Bradley, Calhoun, Cleveland, Desha, Drew, Lincoln, Union, Arkansas, Ashley, Chicot, Columbia, Dallas, Grant, Jefferson, Ouachita and Phillips. Also, Claiborne, Morehouse and Union parishes in Louisiana and Bolivar and Coahoma counties in Mississippi are included.

Farming or ranching businesses are not eligible, but may qualify for U.S. Department of Agriculture assistance.


« Previous Story

Early Ukraine elections set

Russia's Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov speaks in Moscow, Russia, Monday, Aug. 25, 2014. Russia has announced plans to send a second aid convoy to rebel-held eastern Ukraine, where months of fighting have left many residential buildings in ruins. Lavrov said Monday that Russia had notified the Ukrainian government that it was preparing to send a second convoy along the same route in the coming days.  (AP Photo/Ivan Sekretarev)

KIEV, Ukraine -- Ukraine's president dissolved the nation's parliament Monday and called for early elections i... Read »

Next Story »

Sheriff's office: Jermain Taylor charged in s...

Jermain Taylor mug shot

Former professional boxing champion Jermain Taylor has been arrested on charges of first-degree battery and ag... Read »