State's best coaches, players honored at LRTD banquet

Posted: February 1, 2013 at 2:56 p.m.
Updated: February 1, 2013 at 4:23 p.m.

Award winners (left to right) Jimmy Jean of Arkansas Baptist, Jamal Nixon of the University of Arkansas Monticello, Tanner Marsh of Arkansas Tech, and Kelvin Martin of Harding listen to introductions Friday afternoon during the Little Rock Touchdown Club awards banquet.

— Various collegiate and high school football players from around the state were honored at the Little Rock Touchdown Club's end of the season banquet at the Embassy Suites.

State's best coaches, players honored by LRTD

The best collegiate and high school players and coaches were honored on Friday afternoon by the Little Rock Touchdown Club at their end-of-the-year banquet. (By David Harten)
[View Full-Size]

Each of the 11 college programs from the state had a most valuable player honored, as well as a player and a coach from each of the six high school football classes in the state.

The Paul Eells Award was given out as well, going to Arkansas running back Dennis Johnson. Arkansas quarterback Tyler Wilson was named the Razorbacks' 2012 team MVP.

Among the honorees were Class 7A Coach of the Year Darryl Patton from Fayetteville High School. His quarterback, Austin Allen, an Arkansas commitment, was honored as Class 7A Player of the Year.

Pulaski Academy wide receiver L.J. Wallace was honored as the Class 5A Player of the Year.

The honorees

Central Arkansas - QB Wynrick Smothers

Arkansas-Monticello - WR Jamal Nixon

Arkansas Tech - QB Tanner Marsh

Henderson State - QB Kevin Rodgers

Arkansas - QB Tyler Wilson

Arkansas State - QB Ryan Aplin

Arkansas-Pine Bluff - QB Ben Anderson

Southern Arkansas - CB Don Unamba

Ouachita Baptist - WR Brett Reece

Harding - QB Kelvin Martin

Arkansas Baptist - CB Jimmy Jean

Paul Eells Award - Arkansas RB Dennis Johnson

Class 7A

Coach of the Year - Darryl Patton, Fayetteville

Player of the Year - Austin Allen, QB, Fayetteville

Class 6A

Coach of the Year - Rick Jones, Greenwood

Player of the Year - Drew Morgan, ATH, Greenwood

Class 5A

Coach of the Year - Dave King, Batesville

Player of the Year - L.J. Wallace, WR, Pulaski Academy

Class 4A

Coach of the Year - Jeremie Burns, Ozark

Player of the Year - Dontrell Brown, QB, Stuttgart

Class 3A

Coach of the Year - Roddy Mote, Harding Academy

Player of the Year - Will Francis, QB, Harding Academy

Class 2A

Coach of the Year - David Carpenter, Junction City

Player of the Year - Shaquille Hunter, QB, Junction City