Abbrederis receives Burlsworth Trophy

Posted: December 9, 2013 at 1:18 p.m.

Jared Abbrederis, senior wide receiver for the University of Wisconsin, accepts the Burlsworth Trophy Monday, Dec. 9, 2013 during the trophy ceremony at the Northwest Convention Center in Springdale. The award, presented by the Springdale Rotary Club, is given an outstanding college football player who started as a walk-on.

— Wisconsin wide receiver Jared Abbrederis was named the winner of the 2013 Burlsworth Trophy Monday at the Holiday Inn Convention Center in Springdale.

The Burlsworth Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s most outstanding college football player who began his career as a walk-on. It is named after former Arkansas offensive lineman Brandon Burlsworth, who walked onto the Razorbacks in 1994 and became a three-year starter and All-American offensive guard. Burlsworth died in a car accident 11 days after being selected by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL Draft.

Abbrederis won the trophy over Tulsa running back Trey Watts and Missouri offensive lineman Max Copeland.

The Wautoma, Wisc. native was recruited by current Arkansas coach Bret Bielema to walk on with the Badgers. Bielema had success with several walk-on players in his time at Wisconsin, including safety Chris Maragos, who now plays for the Seattle Seahawks, and defensive end J.J. Watt, who plays for the Houston Texans and was named the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 2012.

Abbrederis caught 73 passes for 1,051 yards and 7 touchdowns during his senior season. He also ran the ball six times for 119 yards and 2 touchdowns.

He is the fourth annual winner of the award. Former Penn State quarterback Matt McGloin won the trophy last year. Despite being undrafted, McGloin has played in five games for the Oakland Raiders during his rookie season.


« Previous Story

Alabama man dead after state police stop iden...

State police have released the name of the suspected Alabama fugitive deputies think shot himself after a car chase that spanned two Arkansas counties Sunday afternoon. Read »

Next Story »

Collins named SEC Freshman of the Year

Arkansas running back Alex Collins (3) runs for a 55-yard gain against Samford on Saturday, Sept. 7, 2013 at War Memorial Stadium in Little Rock.

Arkansas running back Alex Collins was named the Southeastern Conference's Freshman of the Year by the Associa... Read »