Council Approves Disbanding Regional Haz-Mat Team

Springdale, Fayetteville Will Cover the County

Posted: December 11, 2012 at 2:01 a.m.

The Fayetteville and Springdale fire departments will take the lead beginning Jan. 1 responding to incidents with hazardous materials anywhere in Washington County.

At A Glance

Intergovernmental Cooperation Council

Intergovernmental cooperation councils are established under state law. The law requires the executives of all political subdivisions of each county to meet regularly “for the purpose of encouraging cooperation by the various local government jurisdictions within each county in the most efficient use of their mutual resources and in the providing of services to their local communities in the most efficient and mutually advantageous manner possible.”

The councils are made up of the county judge, the county clerk and the mayor of each city and incorporated town. At least once annually, the council “shall review the delivery of services by the various local government subdivisions within the county” in these areas:

-Law enforcement services

-Fire protection services

-Jail facilities and correctional services

-Ambulance and emergency medical services

-Library services

-Motor vehicle liability insurance

-Worker’s compensation coverage

-Solid waste management services

-Street, road and highway repair and construction

-Parks and recreation facilities and services

-Planning and zoning services

-Health and sanitation services

-Public transit and transportation services

-Any other service area of local government

Source: Arkansas Code

This story is only available from our archives.